Monday, September 20, 2010

Dubai Super Sixes cricket 2010 gathers momentum

The much-awaited Dubai Super Sixes is expected to witness a fierce competition with the UAE’s corporate world preparing to field their most experienced players in the region’s first-ever six-a-side tournament.
Event organizers Crayon Communications this week announced more than Dhs100,000 in prize money to be handed over to the winning teams, along with other prizes to be given to spectators. To be held at the 25,000-seat Dubai International Cricket Stadium, the three-week tournament begins on October 1st and ends on October 15th and will see some of the biggest corporate names involved in a keen contest for the top honours.

Dubai Super Sixes 2010 will be played under the auspices of the Dubai Cricket Council and will also feature some of the biggest names in international cricket from India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and South Africa playing alongside 48 corporate cricket teams from the region. The event is organized by Crayons Communications and supported by Gulf Oil in association with the Landmark Group.

Already some of the biggest corporate names have announced the participation of their teams in the tournament. These include Lloyds TSB Bank, ABB, and Serco Ltd.

Wasim Akram, former Pakistan captain and Brand Ambassador of Dubai Super Sixes 2010, said that the fast-paced tournament builds on cricket’s enduring popularity among the expatriates. “The response to this inaugural tournament has been absolutely fantastic and I am confident that we will witness some closely fought matches when it takes place,” he added.

Arshad Zaheer, Managing Director of Crayons Communications, said: “Dubai Super Sixes promises to set the benchmark in providing world-class entertainment to everyone. This is an excellent concept aimed at further spreading the game’s popularity in this region and encouraging new talent.”

As per the rules of this fast-paced game, each participating team should comprise 6 players, along with two substitutes, and with the opportunity to choose five neutral fielders from a large pool of players. Playing under the supervision of neutral umpires, the format requires each side to play a limited 5 overs, which they have to complete in 30 minutes.

The eight teams that reach the semi-final stage will each be assigned a top cricket player who will play alongside them.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...